The New Samsung Galaxy S6. Better than the IPhone?

By: Mattia Lanzi

The new Samsung Galaxy S6 has been made to kill the competition of the IPhone 6. New and innovative hardware and software are the two principal characteristics of differentiation that Samsung proposes with its offering.

Cheap plastic and cluttered software. These are the first two things that are going to be very big different between the old Samsung and the new one, which is trying to beat Apple and HTC in sales. “When it comes to its hardware, I’m now a believer. When it comes to its software, I see the efforts, though I’m still not totally convinced.” This is what Joanna Stern says about the new product from Samsung. But let’s get into it.

The hardware and designs of the S6 and S6 Edge, which will be available in April in the U.S., are the most beautiful phones Samsung has ever made. Samsung built a pair of phones that can go head to head with the iPhone 6 and HTC One on any catwalk. There is no plastic. Anywhere. The frame surrounding the screen is made out of aluminum and the back consists only of a smooth piece of shiny material. That creates for a reflective device that catches the light in unusual ways. Just don’t drop these new phones in the toilet. Last year Samsung may have tried to sell you a waterproof Galaxy, but this year it would rather sell you a beautiful one. Both new phones rest comfortably in your hand, but that glass coating collects many fingerprints. Where you do actually want to put your fingerprint now is on the improved sensor in the home button. Instead of having to swipe down you can just place your finger on it. The Samsung Pay platform is due to launch in the U.S. this summer against Apple Pay and Google Wallet. On the back of the S6, you’ll find the heart rate sensor and a protruding camera.

The improved software of the Samsung Galaxy S6 just doesn’t match the elegant hardware. Samsung says it put that same design effort into improving its modified Android OS and apps. The settings menu has been streamlined and the core apps email, calendar etc. have been polished up with cleaner styling and a greater use of white space. “The apps are redesigned so why do the cheap looking cartoony home screen icons remain?” (Joanna Stern) And there’s still a Samsung promotional widget on the home screen. Samsung’s software isn’t all that bad anymore, but it isn’t all that good, either. Samsung told me it is working more and more with Google, but it still wants to maintain its own design identity. For the first time in Galaxy S history, the battery is no longer removable. There’s no Micro SD card slot, either an omission guaranteed to cause some outrage. In a time where Samsung is struggling to keep up with competitors, losing those very things that set it apart from the iPhone and others could hurt more than it helps. But beauty always has its price.

In my opinion, I realize it is hip to be cynical about Samsung (especially to those who belong to the Apple cult) … but I have always been a Samsung and Android fan, because in short, I do not want a toy, I want a tool to work it. I’m disappointed with the S6 because really, being able to swap batteries, and having a water-resistant phone is a big deal. I wish Samsung would not try to be Apple.

9 thoughts on “The New Samsung Galaxy S6. Better than the IPhone?

  1. Zi Wang March 7, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    To be honest, I am not a Samsung’s fan. While I studied at university in China, I used to use Samsung cellphone. But the two cellphones I used did not work very well. For example, the battery life was very short time, and they was really easy to drop and break. Therefore, I chose the iphone as my cellphone after I graduate. However, I am glad to see cellphone of Samsung can be improved and have new innovations from the above of information. I believe that there will be more customers who are interest in the new cellphone and accept it. But I do not agree that the battery in Galaxy S6 is no longer removable. I like the previous design that battery can be remove. I think that it is an advantage of Samsung’s cellphone than Apple. This design is more convenience to charge and carry batteries.

    Like

  2. Lindsey Mattos March 10, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    I switched to a Samsung 4 over a year ago from an Apple because the size of its screen and some of the cool features it offered. I found quickly that the size is a little too big for my hand as I am unable to hold it and reach certain areas without inevitably dropping it. Although I enjoy the Samsung, it isn’t that practical for me because they make it difficult when you have an Apple computer or Itunes. I am sure this is probably due to Apple’s exclusivity, but it is making me change back to an iPhone so I can sync everything easily.

    Like

  3. Skye Stewart March 14, 2015 / 12:50 am

    I think that Samsung will only go over well with customers if its marketing activities are up to date and successful. Other than that, I don’t think that very any people will switch from Apple to Samsung or even buy a Samsung phone as opposed to an iPhone. iPhones are like the staple item that everyone has to have and if someone doesn’t have an iPhone (but a Galaxy) there are always problems with things like group texts. The one with the Samsung phone is always left out. In a way, Samsung is left out right now. Apple products are what everyone wants and they found a way to market their products that actually works. Samsung needs to catch up to that.

    Like

  4. Yuxuan Wang March 15, 2015 / 11:14 pm

    It is so hard to answer which one is better between Samsung and Apple in cellphone industry. They do have different advantages. As you mentioned, I also hope Samsung would not try to be another Apple, because it will let their product to be more common and without any competitiveness. Samsung did a good job until now, because they have a clear market plan about how to compete with Apple. I also think they already know to be the second Apple is not good for them. Just like you, you have brand loyalty, that is what Samsung needs, and Apple also does. So, Samsung and Apple just needs to find their way to sell their products and I believed that both of them could do it well.

    Like

  5. Lindsey Fratus March 25, 2015 / 1:04 am

    I think Samsung’s downfall is going to be trying to replicate the IPhone and apple software. People like Samsung because it’s NOT Apple. By trying to be like Apple they are slowly changing everything that is found in the traditional Samsung phone. Which will cause them to lose their loyal customers because of change but gain those who would’ve usually considered themselves in the “Apple Cult”.

    Like

  6. Emma Tkachuk March 26, 2015 / 2:57 pm

    I like what Samsung has done with their phones and in the past they have definitely done some awesome things in regards to the water proof phone and things along those lines. With changing little things in the phone such as not being able to change the battery or the Micro SD slot it could definitely throw off some customers and make them think what is the difference between this phone and the iPhone, yeah they have cool features like the finger print technology and the aluminum hardware, but its nothing that apple can and won’t do in the future. Personally although I do like the Samsung Galaxy I don’t think I would ever buy anything but an iPhone because that is what I know and what I am comfortable with. Unless Samsung can create a phone with unbeatable technology or something I cannot pass up I don’t think I will be buying one any time soon.

    Like

  7. Briana Lynch April 27, 2015 / 8:52 pm

    I agree that Samsung should not try to mimic Apple by changing features of the Galaxy to resemble closely those of the iPhone. Many cell phone users choose Samsung phones because of the options that differ from the iPhone. If the Galaxy starts to seem like a replica of the iPhone, what’s the point? Loyal Samsung users will be disappointed in the changes and it is highly unlikely that Samsung will be able to win over a significant number of iPhone users. Instead, they keep making phones that differentiate them from Apple, while also marketing towards the parents younger teens who may be considering buying a first phone for their kids. By doing so, they will keep the customers they already have, while also gaining new customers.

    Like

  8. James Wagner April 28, 2015 / 3:38 am

    Apple is one of the biggest brands in cell phones. Samsung is their main competition. The forever battle between the two brands is one of our biggest controversies of our generation. Samsung has so much more room for expansion, while Apple has their intensions set in stone. The new Galaxy S6 Edge looks like a great new phone, and the new iphone is just the old iphone with a couple little differences. Obviously, I am a Samsung supporter all the way, but the competition between the companies will always be a battle.

    Like

  9. Patrick Breslin April 28, 2015 / 7:01 am

    I agree that a phone is something I want to work with not just to play on. There is no argument that Samsung phones have more capabilities and now there hardware is the best on the market with untouchable charging capabilities and a sleek look. All phone companies take ideas from each other im sure but most people don’t know the truth behind many rumors in this industry. Word of mouth is a huge factor between these two companies. Samsung came out with a phone in 2007 that looks exactly like the new iPhone 6 design but most people believe Samsung copied the iPhones design although its the other way around. I personally have owned an iPhone and a Samsung. Although I owned an iPhone longer, I love my Samsung more than any phone I’ve had because it is capable of so much more. Samsung did have to sacrifice its removable battery and micro SD attachments but it doesn’t matter because its battery is initially so strong and it has excessive storage. I think Samsung will grow its company greatly after this outstanding release and will continue to be the dominant option in my opinion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

