Will Crocs become popular again after new marketing push?

By: Blake Boudreau

Remember when Crocs were popular and everyone had to have a pair? Crocs were once part of a fashion trend about ten years ago and could be seen on the fashion run way or even being worn by chef Mario Batali. Currently, crocs are not as popular as they once were. The company has been forced to close down stores and get rid of their leather boots line due to the company’s over-expansion.

The company is now trying to make a marketing push to increase the sales on their original clog that made them famous in the first place. Crocs are a versatile, comfortable, and effective piece of footwear, which makes consumers still interested in them. Although, to get consumers exposed to this product again there needs to be some sort of media buzz around them. The company realizes this, so they’re making a 10 million dollar marketing push. This new marketing push is being lead by ad agency Mckinney. Ads will show: an array of umbrellas and chairs in the shape of a clog on the beach; others envision the clog as a cloud in the sky, a swimming pool, cluster of fireworks above the skyline or a forest in the middle of a tropical island. All or these ads will be in the shape of a crocs clog.

By making this marketing push, its shows that consumers can wear this product in different situations and activities while being comfortable at the same time. “They may not wear them every day, but they will find there are moments in time when they are great to wear,” said Peter Nicholson, executive creative director of McKinney in New York. “They’re super comfortable, there’s no denying that.” This marketing push will be focused in the U.S, U.K, Germany, South Korea, Japan and China. They will market the product by TV, Digital and out of home ads.

I believe that Crocs is making a smart decision by investing $10 million into the marketing of their clog product. This product was once very popular at one time and was even considered a fashion trend. Now that the product isn’t as popular any more it’s a good idea to advertise this product and create some buzz around it. I believe that they should try to market this product to old consumers but also new consumers of a younger age. Yes, this footwear is not something you would wear everyday, but by them showing consumers that you can wear them doing multiple different things it is attractive to the consumer. If you were to buy this product it wouldn’t limit you from using them to just one thing. Rather, you could use them for multiple different situations. Personally, I believe the clog is a great slipper that you can wear both inside and outside because you can just slip them on. I would use the clog as a water shoe, sandal and just a basic shoe to wear causally. If Crocs markets its product to the right target market and continues to make its products relevant to consumers again, I feel as if they will be on the right foot again.

If Crocs new advertising plans are successful, I believe the company will also need to focus on figuring out the right retail stores to sell the merchandise, along with the right online retailing websites. Will these ads be enough to get consumers to buy crocs again? Or will crocs need to offer sales promotions to get consumers more attracted? There really is no answer right now; only time will tell if this marketing push worked, and effects should start showing in about a year.

Source: http://blogs.wsj.com/cmo/2015/03/27/crocs-tries-to-revive-iconic-clogs-in-brands-biggest-marketing-push/

24 thoughts on “Will Crocs become popular again after new marketing push?

  1. David Cravotta March 31, 2015 / 2:26 pm

    I don’t think their “over-expansion” was the actual problem. Crocs are just an ugly piece of footwear and it became a widely known opinion that by wearing them, you are making a fashion statement in a negative light. Crocs will not and cannot be successful in this comeback because I don’t see a direct market for this shoe. What type of people buy this shoe? I’m still trying to figure it out myself. Maybe if your in a mid-life crisis desperate for a new style, then yeah maybe crocs has that niche market. There are much better looking alternatives with the same comfortability if not better than crocs out there. Sorry but I think you can figure out where I stand on this shoe.

    Like

  2. William Cavalier March 31, 2015 / 4:18 pm

    I think crocs are just past there time. the shoe was never really appealing to me anyway and i always just thought they were an ugly piece of footwear, but i have never actually wore one so i don’t know how comfortable they are. Crocs may still have a marketing push with the younger crowds and around warmer weather areas. People can still wear them to the beach and I see them as more of a wear at home type of shoe or healthcare footwear. There are many different alternatives for people to be wearing crocs in a casual setting, there are better looking shoes with the same feeling that are more fashionable. I feel like crocs just don’t have a brand wear anymore.

    Like

  3. Paige Gilbert April 1, 2015 / 12:40 am

    I think it is possible for crocs to come back into the market, but they will have to use their 10 million dollars right so it appeals to the right target market. They also should have specific segments because they should not waste their money on a broad segment when they could never see themselves wearing them again. When I worked at an Italian restaurant over the summer all of the cooks would wear them because they have traction and they don’t slip on the waxy floor. Also, crocs are a good fit for children because it has the back latch that can secure their feet and still be a summer shoe. Personally I do have a pair of crocs and I like wearing them to the beach or just as a quick shoe to slip on if you are in a hurry. Overall if crocs chooses the right target market then they have a possibility of becoming more appealing to those people.

    Like

  4. Cody J. Russell April 1, 2015 / 2:38 pm

    Crocs were definitely a fashion statement to say the least, but unless their target was adults, I don’t see this stunt working. Hate to be the devil’s advocate, but Crocs are simply an “ugly shoe” in the eyes of about 95% of the younger generation and the other 5% most likely doesn’t care enough to deem an opinion. With saying that, my mom wears a pair of Crocs when she goes swimming every morning and the only other person I know to wear them is her friend. The older audience, not old but older, will love the versatility of the shoe and the fact it is made as a multipurpose good.

    The 10 million dollars better be coming from someone who can afford to take that risk because I don’t see the return on this investment being anything substantial or even positive. It is very difficult to bring something back when people all have their formed opinions already based and although it may be comfortable and so on, people now a days want something cool, stylish, and IN. Crocs had their run of fashion rebels and beach-going-moms (sometimes dads) but in all honesty, it will be a long shot.

    Possibly a marketing stunt idea could be like Tom’s. For every shoe sold there is a pair given away. These are definitely the type of shoe a child in a third world country would need and love to have. Also, you won’t only have people buying for themselves, but a cause. By having some adds based on the giving away of a pair of shoes on purchase, you will draw an even bigger crowd who is all about making a difference.

    Like

  5. Kevin McAtamney April 3, 2015 / 5:37 pm

    Unfortunately, I have to agree with how horrifying crocs actually are. In my opinion, not appealing to me or a majority of anyone below the age of 50….I hope. I knew that the shoe itself was invented by a couple college kids out of the University of Colorado and seemed to position the product to appeal to the more layed-back, relaxed, care-free type of person. I remember reading somewhere that crocs are the ultimate statement that you have given up…..on life. Not very positive but that’s what happens when you give a pen to a critic and a bulky, shoe/sandal, single strapped piece of nonsense. If you haven’t figured out by my opinion of this product yet, I will say that I definitely do not see Crocs coming back. It’s an unappealing product in a competitive market. Not much to work with there.

    Like

  6. Brandon Gobbi April 3, 2015 / 6:40 pm

    It is hard to tell whether Crocs will make a comeback, but I think it is a little too late. Crocs were a big hit 8-10 years ago. I do see lots of younger children wearing Crocs and I think it may stay that way. When Crocs were popular, I saw them all the time in stores and today, I don’t see them anywhere. I don’t think Crocs will make a comeback. Like many products, I think they were just a temporary fashion trend.

    Like

  7. Mattia Lanzi April 6, 2015 / 11:43 pm

    I ve never been a huge fun of Crocs. Actually i always thought they were a really ugly pair of shoes. Personally, I don’t think Crocs is going to come back on top of the sales, because i don’t think many teenagers wearing them. Maybe crocs could try to sell them in places with the beach. But i think it will be very hard to see Crocs everywhere like 5 10 years ago

    Like

  8. Joe Wathen April 7, 2015 / 12:21 am

    Honestly I feel as if, even if they do make a comeback, it will be in the children’s market. But even then they do, they are already past their prime. I have owned a pair of Crocs and I am taking a neutral stance on if they are good or not. They were just some unique shoes that were a one-hit-wonder a while back.

    Like

    • Blake Boudreau April 13, 2015 / 8:30 pm

      Joe, you only think they will make a come back in the Children’s Market? Thats an interesting statement and it might be true. Although, you might want to make note that Crocs is also very popular in the hospital industry. Many nurses and doctors wear clogs because they are comfortable and clean. Maybe they should market more for commercial use towards these hostpitals? Definitely an interesting theory.

      Like

      • Charlie O'Connor May 7, 2015 / 3:52 am

        Crocs would absolutely be smart to target the healthcare industry, and I think they will. I don’t know much about Crocs but I think they could also benefit from modifying the size/style to make them look a little more modern, if that’s even possible. I agree with Joe that they are past their prime, when I think of Crocs, fanny pack and zip off pants/shorts come to mind. Being in such a volatile market and the fact that they’re easily copied by less expensive brands, they’re going to need some luck bringing their clogs back to the “in style” conversation.

        Like

  9. Julia Collins April 8, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Personally, I love Crocs and own about four pairs. I agree with what you say in your article about them having a specific audience such as children, gardeners, and those in health professions. I work as a lifeguard and swim instructor, having Crocs keeps me from wearing flip flops on the pool deck which are hazardous on the slippery floor and do not really protect against germs. I believe with the new campaign Crocs can make a comeback, and hopefully they do.

    Like

  10. Emma Tkachuk April 9, 2015 / 2:36 pm

    I always thought Crocs were a very ugly piece of plastic and didn’t consider them to be fashionable. I don’t think Crocs will make a comeback, and if they were to it would take a lot more than a fun ad. I think Crocs have just completely phased out aside from certain customers who absolutely love them. If the people who wore Crocs when they were popular wanted another pair they could still buy them, I just think they are choosing not to. There are many more fashionable alternatives to Crocs that people can buy and thats what they are doing. Crocs were more like a fad whether people were wearing them because they actually liked them, or people who were just wearing them to be funny. Either way I don’t think Crocs will make the huge comeback they are expecting.

    Like

  11. Patrick Lynch April 14, 2015 / 4:48 pm

    I think Crocs will not make a comeback. It’s not the fact that I think the style is ugly, but I don’t that was a one big thing. I think their primary goal should be towards children, or perhaps people living around any shoreline. I think their biggest market will be children, but I think they can receive a small market of some people who used to like them back in the day who live near the ocean.

    Like

  12. Lauren Smith April 15, 2015 / 6:44 pm

    The renewed focus on Croc clogs could pay off seeing as shoppers are yearning for comfortable shoes, at least those shoppers who value comfortableness over fashion or even just having a pair of versatile shoes that look good. However, honestly, it’s one thing if their market is looking for comfortable shoes, but it’s a totally different thing if they’re looking for plastic, vibrant, weird clogs…I read an article stating that they’d be introducing new colors, patterns, and shapes (more feminine fits) for the Spring, but truly I just think this shoe is inevitably ugly and will never be a hit in either the shoe or fashion world. While their is a small market of people such as the beach goers, crew racers, and gardeners who may “love” this shoe, the age range is undoubtably over 35 and they will probably rarely ever even wear their Crocs in public. Without making serious changes to their “original clog blueprint” they will forever be a brand that I slightly judge…

    Like

  13. william matthews April 16, 2015 / 2:31 am

    I think this would be a bad investment for Crocs for many reasons. Crocs, are not a popular product and have a very small target audience being mostly children whose parents buy their shoes for them. Advertising how versatile these shoes are does not change the fact that it is an ugly looking shoe made out of uncomfortable material. Also, this is a very seasonal shoe, so the only way you can advertise is seasonally, which is a downfall. Personally, I think that crocs are becoming less popular because it is an ugly shoe that you can only wear in the summer. I feel as though they should not invest such a large amount of money in such an ugly product with little use.

    Like

  14. McGee Hines April 23, 2015 / 3:00 pm

    Flashback to about 6 or 7 years ago when Crocs were the shoe that kids actually begged their parents to go out and buy them. I remember seeing a new person everyday sporting the comfortable, convertible, and customizable new shoe. Crocs somehow became a trend, and the brand ran with it while they could, selling charms to put on the shoe, a variety of colors for every size male and female. However, the trend of buying Crocs soon came to a hault after about just one season and they finally became just another comfortable shoe that one only buys with a purpose. Nowadays, I see the most croc wearers being little kids whose parents want an easy shoe for their children to slip on, athletes who also want an easy, comfortable shoe to wear before and after games/practices, individuals like myself who have broken toes/feet and can’t exactly fit in anything else, and even some nurses who are on their feet all day and need something durable and comfy to support them. Overall, I don’t think Crocs are totally out of the picture, or ever will be. I see a need for Crocs, and with needs come consumers. If Crocs makes a marketing push, there’s a good chance people will once again recognize themselves with the brand and another wave of fascination could come by for them.

    Like

  15. Patrick Saunders April 26, 2015 / 9:01 pm

    I personally really do not think that a marketing push will technically “bring back Crocs” so to speak. As many people have also mentioned, Crocs are just not an attractive footwear and they are a seasonal product. I think that when Crocs were initially released that it was a good, smart idea, but was actually surprised at how popular they became and how long they lasted as a trend. As a brand, even with a big time marketing push i don’t think they will be able to make much of a comeback. Crocs had the success they had, but i cannot see them becoming nearly as popular as they were in prior years.

    Like

  16. Keelyn Crowe April 27, 2015 / 8:46 pm

    In my opinion I don’t think crocs comeback is going to Happen. Like a lot of trends that fade away it is very unlikely that they can make a comeback especially a product like crocs which now people make fun of and say how ugly they are. Crocs were once popular but I think people have completely grown out of it and I think it’s good to keep them in the past. Crocs only benefit a certain market people who like to garden or people who don’t care to make a fashion statement. In fashion trends now I don’t think they will cut it. I think crocs is taking a huge gamble by using 10 million to rebrand, it could be a huge loss. I think if crocs wants to make a comeback they have to change their product completely and maybe make different types of shoes because I just don’t think their old ones are stylish enough anymore.

    Like

  17. Ryan Etter April 27, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    Now IF this was to break the market it would almost have to be in the children’s market. Soemthing easy for a kid to wear thats comfortable and they don’t care what they’re wearing so its a perfect fit. Personally I’ve never worn them i think they’re ugly and pointless. Crocs were hot for legit a second then fell off and i think they will most likely stay that way.

    Like

  18. Sam Ventresca April 27, 2015 / 11:43 pm

    Unfortunately for Crocs I believe their time is over. Crocs was a fashion trend that was huge at one point, but I don’t see them every becoming popular again. However it was smart of them to make a marketing push but I think it’s a little to late now. They should focus their target market to children who are the only people I see wear Crocs today.

    Like

  19. Lauren Moran April 28, 2015 / 2:59 am

    Making crocs become popular again is like trying to make choker necklaces come back in style- it just cannot simply be done with marketing. I think that Crocs are obselete for the majority of people. The only person I know who wears them is my roommate only because she thinks they are comfortable and wears them with pride and confidence. I do not think people can pull them off like she does though and if it is not something everyone can wear, then Crocs hope and dreams of becoming as popular as I was in 6th grade is not taking off.

    Like

    • Blake Boudreau April 28, 2015 / 6:27 am

      By making a comparison to choker necklaces and crocs is completely different. A choker neckless is a type of style or trend and one could argue that yes crocs is a style or trend too but crocs can be marketed to a wide variety of people. Where as choker necklaces can’t. In the big push to bring crocs back, marketers are currently focusing on the hospitals to get doctors and nurses to buy these products along with old people in nursing homes.

      Like

  20. Brian Vatkevich April 28, 2015 / 9:14 pm

    Crocs will always have a place in some markets. While I do not think they will become very popular again, I know they have remained popular in some fields where shoe choice isn’t a priority such as medical fields and office wear.

    Like

  21. Ryan Zdanwich April 29, 2015 / 1:59 am

    I think that people are aware that Crocs are comfortable and useful in certain situations, but they aren’t in style as much as they were, and nowadays many companies focus on creating really comfortable footwear for many situations. I think they were a fad however some people still wear them that really like them, but putting that much money into marketing crocs is too big of a risk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

